Project information

The beginnings of a museum in Demmin date back to 1914. In 1923 exhibition rooms could be presented to the public. In 1925 it was decided that the collections and the management of the museum would be transferred to the Demmin district. In the 1990s, the museum and its collection moved to the location on the banks of the Hanseatic League.

The museum in Demmin was closed down in 2015. The exhibits were cleared and stored. Since then the Demmin Museum has been closed. The efforts to re-establish a museum in Demmin have so far been fruitless. The Garrison Association proposed to publish pieces from the fund despite the museum’s closure. The aim was to hold consultations with employees of the district.

In 2017, a contract was concluded between the Garrison Association Demmin “9. Ulanen” e.V. and the district of “Mecklenburgische Seenplatte” as owners of the museum collections in Demmin for the digitisation of the fundus.

The inventory and the production of the Internet operational readiness level were carried out in honorary activity by members of the garrison association Demmin 9. Ulanen registered association. The emphasis was put on the pieces with a Demmin reference. The editions of the Demminer Tageblatt were also digitized. For the work the association has a period from 2018 to 2020.

The database was used to create a website entitled “Demminer Heimatgeschichte”, which will be expanded over the next few years.

We would like to express our special thanks to the employees of the Mecklenburg Lake District for their support and the trust placed in us by the owner of the fund. We would also like to thank the sponsors who contributed to the technical equipment of the project with their donations.

Special thanks go to the members of the association, who helped in an honorary capacity in the process of digitizing the museum’s collection.

2018 - Garnisonsverein Demmin "9. Ulanen" e.V.

Projektinformationen

Die Anfänge eines Museums in Demmin reichen bis 1914 zurück. 1923 konnten Ausstellungsräume der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert werden. Der Standort des Museums und des Fundus war in der damaligen Augusta-Straße, der heutigen Adolf-Pompe-Straße. 1925 wurde beschlossen, dass die Sammlungen und die Führung des Museum auf den Kreis Demmin übergehen. In den 1990er Jahren zog das Museum samt Fundus an den Standort am Hanseufer.

Im Jahr 2015 wurde der Museumsbetrieb in Demmin eingestellt. Die Ausstellungs-stücke wurden abgeräumt und eingelagert. Seitdem ist das Demminer Museum geschlossen. Die Bemühungen, in Demmin wieder ein Museum einzurichten, sind bislang ergebnislos. Der Garnisonverein schlug vor, Stücke aus dem Fundus trotz der Schließung des Museums zu veröffentlichen. Mit dem Ziel fanden Beratungen mit Mitarbeitern des Landkreises statt.

Im Jahr 2017 wurde ein Vertrag zwischen dem Garnisonverein Demmin „9. Ulanen“ e.V. und dem Landkreis Mecklenburgische Seenplatte als Eigentümer der musealen Sammlungen in Demmin über die Digitalisierung des Fundus abgeschlossen.

Die Bestandsaufnahme und die Erstellung der Internetpräsenz wurde in ehrenamtlicher Tätigkeit von Mitgliedern des Garnisonvereins Demmin „9. Ulanen“ e.V. geleistet. Dabei wurde der Schwerpunkt auf die Stücke mit einem Demminer Bezug gelegt. Auch die Ausgaben des Demminer Tageblattes wurden digitalisiert. Für die Arbeiten hat der Verein einen Zeitraum von 2018 bis 2020.

Aus dem Datenbestand wurde eine Internetseite „Demminer Heimatgeschichte“ aufgebaut, die in den nächsten Jahren weiter ergänzt wird.

Für die Unterstützung und das entgegenbrachte Vertrauen seitens des Eigentümers des Fundus möchten wir uns besonders bei den Mitarbeitern des Landkreises Mecklenburgische Seenplatte bedanken. Ebenso möchten wir uns bei den Sponsoren bedanken, die mit ihren Spenden für eine technische Ausstattung des Vorhabens beitrugen.

Ein Dank gilt besonders den Vereinsmitgliedern, die im Prozess der Digitalisierung des Museumbestandes ehrenamtlich geholfen haben.

2018 - Garnisonsverein Demmin "9. Ulanen" e.V.